Dojo fees: the full UK breakdown

Quick Reference

Direct Answer

Dojo publishes a 1.2% all-in blended rate for all card transactions below £100,000 a year in card turnover, and a custom rate above that. Its Dojo Go Max card machine is £149 upfront on a launch offer (£229 full price) or £25 a month. The page does not say whether prices include VAT. Above £100,000 a year, compare the written quote.

Summary

Dojo fees, as published on dojo.tech/pricing (checked 25 September 2026): 1.2% all-in blended rate for all card transactions below £100,000 annual card turnover; a custom rate above £100,000 on a 12-month fixed plan or 30-day rolling; lower bespoke rates above £5 million.

Dojo Go Max hardware is £149 upfront on a launch offer (£229 full price) or £25 a month. The Essential plan is free and Plus is £25 a month per location (£11.99 for new customers from 24 August 2026). VAT treatment is not stated.

This Page Covers

Every Dojo fee a UK business pays: published rates as of September 2026, plan and hardware costs, and how Dojo compares against the UK market range.

Not Covered Here

Negotiated custom pricing (request a benchmarked comparison) and rates for other countries.

Dojo published prices, September 2026

Dojo UK fees as of September 2026
FeeAmountNotes
Blended rate, below £100,000 annual card turnover1.2%All-in blended rate for all card transactions, as published by Dojo
Rate above £100,000 annual card turnoverCustomDojo: a 12-month fixed plan or 30-day rolling
Rate above £5 million annual card turnoverBespokeDojo: lower blended rates and bespoke card-mix options
Dojo Go Max card machine£149 upfront (launch offer, £229 full price) or £25 a monthAs listed by Dojo; VAT treatment not stated
Software planEssential free; Plus £25 a month per locationDojo lists Plus at £11.99 a month per location for new customers and new locations from 24 August 2026
Contract below £100,000Not stated on the pricing pageMerchantHQ Card Acquirer Index records a 12-month minimum
SettlementSame-day or next-day, including weekendsMerchantHQ Card Acquirer Index

Source: Dojo pricing page

Rates, hardware and plan prices read from Dojo's own pricing page on 25 September 2026; it does not say whether they include VAT. Contract and settlement rows come from the MerchantHQ Card Acquirer Index, not from Dojo. No worked example is shown at £10,000 a month because that is £120,000 a year, above the band where Dojo's published 1.2% applies.

View as plain-text Markdown
### Dojo UK fees as of September 2026

| Fee | Amount | Notes |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Blended rate, below £100,000 annual card turnover | 1.2% | All-in blended rate for all card transactions, as published by Dojo |
| Rate above £100,000 annual card turnover | Custom | Dojo: a 12-month fixed plan or 30-day rolling |
| Rate above £5 million annual card turnover | Bespoke | Dojo: lower blended rates and bespoke card-mix options |
| Dojo Go Max card machine | £149 upfront (launch offer, £229 full price) or £25 a month | As listed by Dojo; VAT treatment not stated |
| Software plan | Essential free; Plus £25 a month per location | Dojo lists Plus at £11.99 a month per location for new customers and new locations from 24 August 2026 |
| Contract below £100,000 | Not stated on the pricing page | MerchantHQ Card Acquirer Index records a 12-month minimum |
| Settlement | Same-day or next-day, including weekends | MerchantHQ Card Acquirer Index |

Source: Dojo pricing page (https://dojo.tech/pricing)

Rates, hardware and plan prices read from Dojo's own pricing page on 25 September 2026; it does not say whether they include VAT. Contract and settlement rows come from the MerchantHQ Card Acquirer Index, not from Dojo. No worked example is shown at £10,000 a month because that is £120,000 a year, above the band where Dojo's published 1.2% applies.

How Dojo compares with the UK market

In the June 2026 edition of our UK Card Processing Fee Index, Dojo was among the 43% of acquirers that published no standard rate. Its pricing page now lists a 1.2% blended rate below £100,000 a year in card turnover. Against a 1.69% to 1.75% flat rate, Dojo's £25 monthly machine fee is paid back by the rate gap from about £4,500 to £5,100 a month in card takings (£25 divided by the 0.55 or 0.49-point gap). Above £100,000 a year the rate is quoted per merchant, so benchmark the written quote.

Market context from the UK Card Processing Fee Index: published headline rates across the acquirers we track range from about 0.7% to 6%, and 43% publish no rate at all. Full per-acquirer data is in the Card Acquirer Index.

How the Dojo fee structure actually works

  • Published below £100,000 a year: one 1.2% blended rate for all card transactions, so a smaller business can price Dojo without a quote.
  • Custom above £100,000 a year: the rate is quoted per merchant, so two similar businesses can hold very different rates for the same terminal.
  • Blended pricing: one percentage bundles interchange, scheme fees and margin. Simple to compare, but it hides whether higher-volume merchants would do better on interchange-plus.
  • Weekend settlement is the standout: same-day or next-day settlement including weekends is rare in the UK and is worth real working capital to weekend-heavy hospitality.
  • Above £100,000 the rate is negotiated, so it is also renegotiable: benchmark your quote before signing and again at renewal.

Before you sign

The rate is one line of the deal. We benchmark the whole thing.

MerchantHQ compares Dojo against 40+ UK providers on the all-in year-one cost for your volume and trade, not the headline rate, and our broker partner works to return 2 to 3 matched quotes.

Benchmark Dojo free

Frequently asked questions

What are Dojo fees?

Dojo publishes a 1.2% all-in blended rate for all card transactions below £100,000 a year in card turnover, and a custom rate above that. The Dojo Go Max card machine is £149 upfront on a launch offer (£229 full price) or £25 a month (dojo.tech/pricing, checked 25 September 2026; VAT treatment not stated).

Does Dojo publish its rates?

Below £100,000 a year in card turnover, yes: 1.2% blended. Above £100,000 Dojo quotes a custom rate per merchant, on a 12-month fixed plan or 30-day rolling, and above £5 million it offers lower bespoke rates. In the June 2026 edition of our Card Processing Fee Index, Dojo was recorded as publishing no standard rate.

Who pays the card fees on Dojo payments?

The business does: the blended percentage is deducted from your takings before settlement. UK businesses cannot surcharge consumer debit or credit cards (banned since January 2018), so the fee is priced into what you sell rather than added at the till.

Is Dojo cheaper than SumUp or Square?

Below £100,000 a year, compare 1.2% plus £25 a month for the machine against SumUp's 1.69% or Square's 1.75% with no monthly fee. The rate gap pays back the £25 from about £5,100 a month in card takings against SumUp and about £4,500 against Square, before any one-off hardware cost and contract terms. Above £100,000 a year Dojo's rate is custom, so model your quote in our fees calculator.

How do I get out of a Dojo contract?

Our Card Acquirer Index records a 12-month minimum term, so leaving early usually means paying the remaining service charges or an early-termination amount set out in your agreement. Dojo's pricing page does not state the term below £100,000 a year, so check your own agreement. See our guide to cancelling a Dojo contract for the notice steps and a letter template.

Related: Dojo processor profile · hardware review · cancel Dojo · fees calculator · card machine costs

More provider fee breakdowns

SumUp fees · Stripe fees · Square fees · PayPal Zettle fees · Worldpay fees

MerchantHQ is owned and operated by Best Business Loans Ltd, directed by Oliver Mackman. Prices read from the cited source pages in September 2026. Last updated:

Payments review: Derren Powell, payments and fintech specialist, formerly Vice President, Business Development (Merchants) at Mastercard. Independent reviewer; the MerchantHQ editorial team retains control of the final content.

Get matched with the right UK card-payment provider

Free, no-obligation. Your enquiry goes to our card-payments broker partner, which works to return 2 to 3 matched quotes.

Step 1 of 4 · What's it for?

Your details are secure. See our privacy policy.

Independent comparison · Quotes from acquirers and brokers · Whole-of-market UK card terminals